SYVUHS Athletic Calendar for October

Santa Ynez Pirate Football against Carpinteria High School. SYHS won 42-0! #PiratePride Photos by Barry Sigman

Santa Ynez Valley Union High School’s athletes continue their fall seasons in October, including the Homecoming football game on Oct. 7. Here’s a schedule of home games and matches this month; for full schedules, log onto www.syvpirates.org.

FOOTBALL

Friday, Oct. 7 – MORRO BAY – JV 4p.m., varsity Homecoming game at 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 21 – LOMPOC – JV 4 p.m., varsity 7 p.m.  Varsity 7 p.m.

BOYS WATERPOLO

Wednesday, Oct. 12 – NIPOMO – JV 3:30p.m., varsity at 4:30 p.m., SYVUHS pool.

Wednesday, Oct. 26 – MORRO BAY – JV 3:30p.m., varsity at 4:30 p.m.

GIRLS TENNIS

Tuesday, Oct. 4 – MORRO BAY – 3:30 p.m. varsity match at the SYVUHS tennis courts.

Wednesday, Oct. 5 – SAN MARCOS – 3:30 p.m. JV match.

Thursday, Oct. 6 – TEMPLETON – 3:30 p.m. varsity match.

Tuesday, Oct. 11 – NIPOMO – 3:30 p.m. JV match.

Thursday, Oct.  13 – CABRILLO – 3:30 p.m. Varsity match.

Tuesday, Oct. 18 – ORCUTT ACADEMY – 3:30 p.m. JV match.

Thursday, Oct. 20 – SANTA MARIA – 3:30 p.m. varsity match.

Thursday-Friday, Oct. 27-28 – LPL FINALS – 9 a.m.  Playoffs will be held at Hancock College and Minami Community Center in Santa Maria

GIRLS GOLF

Monday, Oct. 3 – CABRILLO – 3 p.m. at The Alisal River Course

Tuesday, Oct. 4 – SANTA BARBARA – 3 p.m. at The Alisal River Course

Monday, Oct. 10 – MORRO BAY – 3 p.m. at The Alisal River Course

GIRLS VOLLEYBALL

Tuesday, Oct. 4 – MORRO BAY – 3:30 p.m. freshmen-sophomore match; 4:30 p.m. JV; 5:30 p.m. varsity, in SYVUHS’s New Gym.

Thursday, Oct. 6 – TEMPLETON – 3:30 p.m. freshmen-sophomore match; 4:30 p.m. JV; 5:30 p.m. varsity, in SYVUHS’s New Gym.

Thursday, Oct. 13 – CABRILLO – 3:30 p.m. freshmen-sophomore match; 4:30 p.m. JV; 5:30 p.m. varsity.

Wednesday, Oct. 19 – SAN MARCOS – 4 p.m. freshmen-sophomore match; 5 p.m. JV; 6:30 p.m. varsity

Thursday, Oct. 20 – SANTA MARIA – 3:30 p.m. freshmen-sophomore match; 4:30 p.m. JV; 5:30 p.m. varsity.

CROSS COUNTRY

The team has no home meets this season. Races in the area include:

Saturday, Oct. 1 – time TBA in Atascadero

Wednesday, Oct. 5 – TBA at Cabrillo

Saturday, Oct. 15 – 10 a.m. at Dunn School

Thursday, Oct. 27 –  2 p.m. at Lompoc River Park